Life Drawing 20 Mar 17

Using charcoal on Kraft paper this week as it is easier to draw and erase to correct errors as the drawing progresses. I have not found a way yet to correct a watercolour figure painting. My plan is to make a watercolour painting later using a charcoal drawing as reference.

20-03-17-Life_001

A series of 3 by 2 minute sketches

20-03-17-Life_002

Note to self: Happy with the vertical leg but not the drawing of his foot

20-03-17-Life_003

Note to Self: prone leg not working but happy with the rest of the drawing

20-03-17-Life_004

Watercolour from above charcoal drawing

Note to self: I soaked the paper thoroughly all over with a large brush and worked wet in wet using my charcoal drawing as reference. I did not do any preliminary drawing but as the painting progressed I used a pair of compasses to measure the dimensions of the dominant features. First I dropped a puddle of watercolour for his back and another puddle for his head then washed the brush and teased out the puddles of pigment with water. I worked flat, the saturated paper made the colour run and bleed everywhere. I lifted colour and redefined edges continuously  moving from one wet area to another wet area and back again as the colour spread and disappeared. Each edge had to be defined again and again. It made the medium feel very plastic and I could mould it, even changing dark shadows to highlights if needed as the paper stayed wet until the painting was finished with just the one wash.

In summary I don’t think the watercolour painting added anything not represented in my charcoal drawing

2 thoughts on “Life Drawing 20 Mar 17

  1. Hi Ian, I’m really enjoying your life drawing series. The back of the female is gorgeous – her head and lower shadows especially. I agree with you about the angle of the leg. And I am loving the transition from coloured paper to coloured watercolour. Nice one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

