Another attempt at ‘On the road to Dunedoo’

On_the_road_to_Dunedoo

During a cycle tour in western NSW we stopped on the side of a dirt road. I took a few photographs of a typical Australian landscape attempting to capture the contrast between the straw coloured wild grasses, and the trees blackened and damaged by past bushfires.

On_the_road_to_Dunedoo-2

I painted this scene back in January this year four times, none were any good, this was the best of them but I was never happy with it. This week I decided to have another attempt.

Road_to_Dunedoo_rev_001

I drew in the trees with a black waterproof felt pen following my photographic reference closely as I felt the drawing of the trees was a weak point in my previous attempts. I then used masking fluid to preserve one edge of the trunk as a highlight and added some random light strokes for grass highlights. This gave me a framework on which to construct the rest of my painting with a series of washes and glazes for the foliage and native grasses.

Road_to_Dunedoo_rev_002
On the road to Dunedoo final version

I am much happier with this revised version
Colours: Ultramarine Blue, it’s compliment Cadmium red, yellow Ochre and Viridian Green on 185gsm Arches rough

Leave a Reply

